Survivor – Tom Hoyle

Hey everyone! Survivor was another one of my books on my January TBR. It’s another short story, so I got through it pretty fast!

Challenges:

Read Harder Challenge: No

Popsugar Advanced Challenge: 40 – A book you bought on a trip

img_1922

Published 13th August 2015

Goodreads rating: 4.28/5

My rating: 4/5

When the first person on the Ultimate Bushcraft adventure holiday mysteriously dies, it’s a tragedy. But when the second, and third die …it’s no longer mysterious: it’s suspicious. Who can you trust when everyone left alive is a suspect? Who is the murderer? As the numbers dwindle, the chances of survival plummet …Staying alive has never seemed so guilty. Perfect for fans of Michael Grant


I actually rated this book 4.5/5 but rounded it down to 4/5 for Goodreads.

I read this book in one entire sitting. At first, I wasn’t sure if it was for me or what age group it was aimed at. I was so interested in this story. As time progresses, you get more confused and keep guessing what you think is going to happen. However, with this book, it’s a ‘nice’ confused, one that keeps you wanting to know what’s going on, with no idea what on earth it could be. Not like ‘The Outliers’, where I just had no idea what was going on and kept having to reread because it was so far fetched.

I like that the story is told from the perspective of the main character, another character (alternate chapters) and the occasional entry from someone else. It really gives a you a wider idea of what is going on and other peoples opinions on it, rather than just what the character knows. The chapters are relatively small which makes it easy to just “read one more”.

I haven’t heard anything about a sequel or follow up to this book, so that’s why it lost .5 of a star. Even though this book was incredible, I want to know what happened after!

Going in to this book you’re not told much. The front and back of the book give away nothing, trust me, it’s for the best. You’re just told that there is an adventure, people start dying and they don’t know who it is. Who can you trust? Who should you not trust? And is everything you see/read a fact or is it all just being twisted?

Fantastic read and would definitely recommend. On further research in to the author I see that he’s written more similar books. I am definitely going to check those out at some point too.


Love & Laughter

Cheryl xx

One thought on “Survivor – Tom Hoyle

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s